Goal Getters

Rules

There are many rules in lacrosse, here are a few important ones:

  • Only allowed 12 players on the field at once (for each team) including the goalie.
  • The game last for 50 minutes – broken up into 2 quarters of 25 minutes with a halftime of 10 minutes
  • You are not allowed to touch the lacrosse ball with your hands, only the stick
  • While someone is defending in the 8 meter arc, you are allowed to remain in the area for more than 3 seconds at a time.

Lacrosse Positions

  1. Goalie – – The goalies job is to protect the ball from the other team so they do not score.
  2. Defense – – The defenders or as we call them “The D” job is to protect the goalie.
  3. Middie – – Middie’s play the entire field, they can run from both ends. They have to be very skilled at picking up the ball.
  4. Attack – – Attackers jobs are to score the points into the goal.

My Lacrosse Life

I have played lacrosse for 3 years. My favorite positions that I have played are defense, attack ,and goalie. I have been playing goalie though for 1 year. I enjoy being a goalie because I am in charge of the defense.

I am a left handed defender. Which helps me as a defender because I can block the ball easier from the girls who are right handed on offense.

I play for two teams. I play in the Spring Grove Lacrosse Club, our team name is the Ladyjacks. I play on our 5th & 6th Grade Team and also the 7th & 8th Grade Team. The other team I play for is Venom Lacrosse Club, which is a travel team in Hanover, PA. I play Lacrosse year round.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *