Dragon puppets!

My experience with puppets

Have you ever wondered why people make dragon puppets? Well, usually the puppeteers make them for fun or clout. I do for both, i feel it is very therapeutic to make them once you get the hang of it of course! In my opinion, the hardest part to make is most definitely the face. I am a dragon puppeteer myself, I have many different ones. I’m on YouTube to show them and get inspiration too. I have 50 subscribers at the moment and I’m working on my 50 subs dragon. Now, before you say “only 50 subscribers ?!” I just got my channel! I work very very hard on these dragons puppets and sell most of my good ones on my Etsy . I usually sell them because well, i run out of paper really fast and i need to afford more to make them. After i made the base one time i knew how to make it easily.

The Hate.

I was very surprised to find that only around 5% of puppeteers are furries. However, 97.8% of (out of 150) puppeteers report that they are receiving hate by people who (most of the time) incorrectly accuse them of being a furry. Most of us dragon creators don’t enjoy when someone accuses us of being something we aren’t remotely even close to. I’ve asked mostly all of my class and online friends the same question “if you were super proud of something, posted it, and got called a furry for it, what would you do?”. They all replied with a very similar response and action “I would be very mad because i am not a furry!” with a shocked or confused expression.

How to Make a Puppet.

To make a paper dragon you need 5 pieces of paper, tape or glue, pencil(s), scissors, and creativity! The first thing you need to do is fold the 2 pieces of paper like you are going to make a fan, then fold both papers in half and tape or glue where the ends of the paper meet. Then, you use a pencil and outline your folded paper( you will need 4 of them), then, cut out the paper and tape or glue each piece of paper to the folded paper. Now you have a base. Now, use the base and make small two lines at the top (where it’s folded )and the end of the base. This is your start and finish of your dragon. Make your design line up with the lines. Make it your own and just know, you’re not a furry if you make these. You’re a furry if you want to be. Not if you make dragon puppets!

12 thoughts on “Dragon puppets!

      1. No hate or anything, but I think dragon puppets are cringe. Here’s why, first, they originate from TikTok, and a lot of people on TikTok make cringe videos, also they make the dragon puppets sync the words to a viral sound, which i don’t know why, but to me its cringe. But your dragon puppet is actually cool! A lot of them are unorganized though.

        1. Yeah, I do YouTube, though! But, just because something originates from a particular platform, doesn’t necessarily mean that all of the are cringe. At first I thought they were cringey too! Then I saw how popular they are. I had around 150 subs before I lost my account, It got terminated for some reason but I agree that they seem cringey at first.!

  1. So cool I what to make them. What types of dragon puppets have you made? I’m trying to make a dragon stuffy maybe I can can make a dragon puppet head and use it for my dragon body, so it can open its mouth.

  2. I found my very first dragon puppet a couple days ago and don’t know what to do with it. Do I throw it away or keep it? Like I seriously don’t know.

    1. I would say keep it. I had to throw away mine but i have videos and i like comparing them to see how much i have improved.

  3. These are awesome !!! One question I need to ask . How do you get the inspiration for the decorations of the eyes , texture , size , and colors ???

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *